European Super League: UEFA and major leagues to ban 12 breakaway clubs

The European Super League has been announced with 12 clubs joining, but UEFA and the league’s associations are not happy and have threatened to ban the clubs.

Your players may not even be able to play in the FIFA World Cup.

UEFA issued a joint statement, along with the England Football Association, the Premier League, the Spanish Football Federation (RFEF), La Liga and the Italian Football Federation (FIGC), as well as Serie A, on Sunday.

Specifically, all teams that join the Super League will be excluded from any other competition at national, European or world level. Additionally, players on these teams may also be denied the opportunity to represent their countries at the national level.

The statement also thanks the clubs of the French and German leagues, in particular Bayern Munich and Paris Saint-Germain, for denying participation in said league. UEFA makes clear its sentiment towards the idea of ​​a Super League, and what it represents for the rest of football: “This persistent self-interest of a few has been going on for too long. Enough is enough.”

In a separate statement, the Premier League said it condemned the proposal because it “attacks the principles of open competition and sporting merit that are at the heart” of national and European football.

Culture Secretary Oliver Dowden said in a statement that the government is “concerned that this plan may create a closed store at the top of our national game.”

He added:
“We have a football pyramid where funds from the globally successful Premier League flow down the leagues and into local communities.
“I would be bitterly disappointed to see any action that destroys that.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *